a play by David T Douglas

Length: 90 minutes (w/ intermission)
Genre: suspense/thriller
Cast: 5 men, 1 woman
Setting: a dining room / living room inside an uninviting, sparsely furnished house
Over a year ago, Trip beat the odds, winning more than money at a high-stakes poker game. Now, hosting a game of his own, he is again challenged by the same disrespectful, sore loser of an opponent. As cards are dealt, so too are old accusations, and, before long, the bitter rivalry erupts beyond the felt. It’s hearts versus diamonds, and the winner takes all—but this is no regular game of chance. In fact, everything has been carefully planned, yet no one predicted the cards fate has up its sleeve.
About the Play
Railbird is the reworking of David’s 2007 (never produced) short film script, Fire Lake, which was inspired by the Bob Seger song of the same name. Even though Railbird is much improved over its predecessor, many of the original story elements remain, including the minimal set, unexpected twists, and the use of fortune-telling cards to foreshadow the fates of the characters.
Production History
  • April 8, 2020 – (online) staged reading
    • Original Works Series – Arts Fort Worth (Fort Worth, TX)
      • TRIP – Shawn Gann
      • PHIL – Andrew Manning
      • JOE – Malcolm Stephenson
      • CHRIS – David Graham
      • BLAKE – Carter Frost
      • SARAH – Meagan Harris
      Directed by Jason Leyva
      Stage Directions: Joshua Hahlen

  • February 23, 2019 – staged reading
    • First Impressions Festival – Imprint Theatreworks (Dallas, TX)
      • TRIP – Damian Gomez
      • PHIL – Jacob Neal Hopson
      • JOE – Jonathan Hardin
      • CHRIS – Michael Speck
      • BLAKE – Anthony Holmes
      • SARAH – Robin Clayton
      Directed by Nick Leos
      Stage Directions: Robin Clayton & Anthony Holmes

  • January 18, 2018 – public reading
    • Play Readers Club – Our Productions Theatre Co. (Lewisville, TX)

  • October 27, 2017 – original draft completed

The haunting and the haunted play a game no one can win.
“No Man’s Land” | Bob Seger